5 Passover Cooking Tips
Learning these 5 Passover cooking tips will make your meals even more special. Passover cooking doesn’t allow the use of leavened bread, so recipes are modified or special recipes are used during Passover. A special thin cake called matzah is eaten in place of bread during Passover.
- Special Passover sections. Many grocery stores will have a special Passover section with foods that are approved to be eaten during the holiday period. Be aware that they may not be absolutely correct about choosing foods. Read the labels and decide for yourself.
- Cooking and eating utensils. By the morning of Passover, pots, pans, dishes and utensils exclusively for Passover cooking and eating should replace the daily set of utensils. Or they should be “made Kosher” with the advice of the Rabbi.
- Kosher for Passover certification. The regular kosher certification on food labels is different than the kosher for Passover certification. KFP or KP may appear on the label or the words kosher for Passover will appear in English or Hebrew.
- Substitutions. Potato starch can be used instead of flour or cornstarch as a thickener in Passover cooking. Matzah can be ground up into Matzah meal and used as breading or instead of bread crumbs used to hold a recipe together, such as meatloaf or meatballs.
- Limit the Passover foods you buy. Even though you might want to get some cookies or cereal that is KFP for the holiday period, don’t buy more than you can eat. They won’t last until next year and everyone will be ready to go back to regular cookies and cereal once Passover has passed.