7 Continents Of The World

The 7 continents of the world each have their own identities, as all are different in many ways. These differences range between geographical features, people who live on them, their physical size and the area in which they are located on the planet Earth. Knowing the basics about the seven continents of the world will help you to understand how the world looks and what makes people from these other continents live the way that they do.

  1. North America. One of the most progressive continents of the world, North America is where the United States of America is located as well as Mexico and Central America. This continent was always thought to be a new, young land as it wasn’t settled by Europeans until the 1500’s. However, native americans have lived in North America for thousands of years prior.
  2. South America. Like North America, South America is one of the seven continents of the world that has only recently been settled by Europeans, in the larger time frame of the continents of the world. Some of the largest rain forests in the world are located in South America, as are a wide variety of eclectic cultures like Brazil and Argentina.
  3. Europe. One of the most densely populated and smallest continents in the world, Europe is where much of Western culture began. It has some of the most eclectic cities in the world, which reflect different eras in human history over nearly a century and a half. Rivers flow from the center of the continent out to the oceans and seas.
  4. Asia. Of the seven continents of the world, Asia is easily the biggest, having over one third of the world’s total land area. It stretches from Japan to the Middle East. The highest and lowest points in the world are located on the continent and it has all types of life, from equatorial rainforest to Arctic tundra.
  5. Africa. Considered the place where human life began, Africa is the second largest continent in the world. It has the largest desert in the world, as well as the world’s second longest river in the Nile. There are animals on the continent of Africa that can’t be found anywhere else in the world and a large amount of gold and silver.
  6. Antarctica. The second smallest of the sevent continents of the world, Antarctica is almost uninhabited as it is located on the bottom of the Earth and almost entirely covered with snow and ice. It is a true desert, as it is so cold and dry, with an average temperature of negative 58 degrees. It so cold that people have not been able to settle there permanently.
  7. Australia. The smallest of the seven continents, Australia is both a continent and a country. It is mostly rugged plains that have a lot of animals native to the continent. Along the Eastern and Western coasts of the country are lusher areas where people in the country live. The Great Barrier Reef is just off the Eastern Coast, the largest coral reef in the world.


show comments

What Others Are Reading Right Now.