How to Delete Facebook Account
If you want to know how to delete a Facebook account, it is easy to do so. You may want to delete a Facebook account because you're tired of all the email alerts or maybe you just don't have the time to keep up with it. To delete a Facebook account, you must first deactivate your account, then you will be ready to permanently delete it. If you permanently delete your account, your photos and videos will be deleted. Make sure you save your photos and any other information before permanently deleting your account.
- Sign in. Go to Facebook and sign in with your email address and password.
Access your account settings. Click the "Account" button located in the top, right-hand corner of the page and select "Account Settings" from the drop-down menu. You can change your networks, mobile information, and deactivate your account here.
- Deactivate your account. You have to deactivate your account before you can delete Facebook. Click the "Settings" tab and look to the options at the bottom of the page. In the section that is labeled "Deactivate Account," click "Deactivate." If you only deactivate your account, you can reactivate your account later to access your photos and information.
- Choose a reason why you want to deactivate your Facebook account. Check the box next to one of the reasons you want to leave and click "Deactivate Facebook Account." You will receive an email message from Facebook confirming that your account has been deactivated. You are now set to permanently delete your account.
- Access the Help Center. After you deactivate your account, permanently delete your account by clicking the "Help Center" link at the bottom of Facebook's homepage. When the Help Center opens, click "Privacy" and then select "Privacy: Deactivating, Deleting, and Memorializing Accounts."
Delete your Facebook account. Click the "Deleting Account" section to expand the information and click the "here" link to submit a request to permanently delete your account. Click "Submit" to verify that you want to delete your account.