How To Delete A Hotmail Account
Knowing how to delete a Hotmail account can be useful. If you created the account to use temporarily, or if you no longer use the account, there is no reason to keep it. In the future, you will be able to create a new Hotmail account, but you will not be able to retain any of the information stored from your deleted account.
To delete a Hotmail account, you will need:
- Internet access
- Hotmail account
- Open the Hotmail website and log in with your username and password. Remember to include “@hotmail.com” at the end of your username. After logging in, you are brought to your account home page.
- Click your name at the top and select “Account.” Your name appears as whatever name you created your account with, which is typically your first and last name. By clicking your name, it opens a small drop down menu with the “Account” option.
- Click the “Close your account link.” This appears in the “Other Options” section of the website at the very bottom. Hotmail likes to hide these options, because, of course, Hotmail does not want you to leave.
- Read the account termination note. Hotmail makes you think twice before deleting your account. Hotmail lets you know that all of your information is deleted, you will lose your contacts and you will lose the ability to log in to any Microsoft services using the account username and password.
- Verify your identity and delete your Hotmail account. If you are still certain you want to delete your Hotmail account, enter your password again in the bottom text box and confirm it by clicking “Yes.”