How To Diet For Celiac Disease
Need information on how to diet for Celiac disease? Celiac disease while life changing, does not mean that the quality of enjoyable foods has been tossed out the window. As a matter of fact being diagnosed with Celiac's disease can often lead to trying new foods that a person without Celiac's disease would not normally try. Learning how to diet for Celiac disease can be easily done with the following tips.
- The first tip for those who wish to learn to diet for Celiac disease is that for celiac disease many milk products are still allowed. Most milk, creams, ice-creams, and cheeses are absolutely allowed on a Celiac diet. The only concern with milk products would be malted milk products and products that contain any type of gluten additive. An example would be a specific flavor of ice cream with a gluten additive. Labels will advise if gluten is present in the product.
- Good news for those who wish to learn to diet for Celiac disease, there are many grain products that are still allowed. For example there are many breads that contain products that are gluten free such as rice, potato, and cornmeal. Cereals containing these foods can easily be found in local grocers. The key is to read the ingredients and determine if foods contain any form of wheat or gluten.
- Those who wish to learn to diet for Celiac disease can continue to eat meat. Meat alone usually does not contain gluten. The packaging, processing, and preparation of meat can introduce gluten into meats. To ensure that meat remains gluten free it is best to purchase meats uncooked and utilize seasonings such as Bullseye, Texas Pete, or Amy's naturals just to name a few for seasoning.
- When preparing meals butter and margarine are allowed items. This is helpful for those who wish to learn how to diet for Celiac disease. Many of the tastiest recipes include these items and allow those who are utilizing the gluten free diet to stay true to the diet. It is important to always read the labels on products to ensure they are in compliance with the gluten free requirement.
- Finally though most alcoholic beverages are off limits distilled alcohols are okay for those who are partaking a gluten free diet. When dieting for Celiac disease it is important to remember that only certain alcoholic beverages will not induce sickness. The Celiac website lists the following alcoholic beverages are safe for Celiac consumption:
- Bourbon-Makers Mark
- Cider- Fermented from grapes or other fruits. Read the label
- Margarita Mix(check the labels)
- Mead- distilled from honey
- Scotch Whiskey
- Sparkling wine
- Wine Coolers
The diagnosis of being a Celiac does not mean that all of the enjoyment of food is gone. There are still a great deal of options available. The key is to read labels and ensure compliance with gluten free. Even if a product claims to be gluten-free it is always best to read the labels. When in doubt, the best tip for learning to diet for Celiac disease is always to contact a physician.