How To Make Corn Kosher For Passover
During preparations for Passover, many people are left wondering how to make corn kosher for Passover. The food requirements for Passover differ between the Ashkenazi and Sephardic Jews, based on tradition and location. Here is how to make corn kosher for both Ashkenzai and Sephardic Jews.
Corn Kosher for Passover – Sephardic Tradition
- Corn is kosher for Passover for Jews who follow the Sephardic tradition. Sephardic tradition does not forbid the eating of corn or of other foods made with corn.
- Corn must not contain any wheat, spelt, barley, oats or rye in order to be kosher for Passover. Products containing corn must be labeled kosher for Passover.
- Corn or corn products must not be allowed to ferment. Fermented corn or corn products which have had leaven added to it are not kosher for Passover.
Corn Kosher for Passover – Ashkenazi Tradition
- Corn cannot be made kosher for Passover for human consumption according to the Ashkenazi tradition. Although it is not part of the five forbidden species, corn is considered to have fermenting ability and is therefore additionally forbidden.
- Corn may not be eaten by people during Passover, however it is not forbidden to own or use corn. Corn can be considered kosher for Passover when used in pet food or when corn products are used for purposes other than human consumption.
- Some non-traditional Ashkenazi Jews will still eat corn products, such as corn oil for cooking and other items that have been processed. Generally this will only include those products which do not have the ability to ferment and no longer resemble actual corn.