How Many Supreme Court Justices Are There

How many Supreme Court Justices are there? The United States Supreme Court has a total of nine court justices. One of the nine court justices is the chief justice of the court and all the other members are associate justices of the court. Chief Justice John G. Roberts, Jr. operates the court with Supreme Court Justices: Antonin Scalia, Anthony M. Kennedy, Clearance Thomas, Ruth Bader Ginsburg, Stephen G. Breyer, Samuel Anthony Alito, Jr., Sonia Sotomayor, and Elena Kagan. Read on to find out more information about the establishment of nine members and the Supreme Court.

In 1789, the very first Supreme Court Justice system was established and there was one chief justice and five associate justices. This was the beginning of the first Federal Court system in the United States. However, during the 19th century, Congress enacted legislation that changed the number of Supreme Court Justices.  There was a time when there were seven and then there was a time when there were ten Supreme Court Justices.The Judiciary Act of 1869 placed the number of Supreme Court Justices back at nine.

The nine US Supreme Court Justices work to ensure that U.S. laws and treaties are legal according to the Constitution of the US. For example, the nine court justices presides over issues involving two or more states, issues concerning Ambassadors, and issues between states and its citizens. This is a brief overview of some of the cases that are presented to the US Supreme Courts nine Justices. Whenever the US Supreme Court’s nine Justices make a decision, it is the final decision.



What Others Are Reading Right Now.

  • Speakeasy

    Acting, comedy and strong spirits converge in Speakeasy. When host Paul F. Tompkins interviews entertainers—Key and Peele, Alison Brie, Rob Delaney, Zach Galifianakis—about all sor …

  • Emma Watson and Other Child Stars Who Grew Up To Be Hot

    Throughout the Harry Potter film series, we've seen Emma Watson transform from a lovable child star into a burgeoning sex symbol. She's not the first actress to do so, and she cert …

  • 10 Things Women Expect Men to Know How To Do

    To make ladies swoon or at least not cringe, you’d better be able to handle the following…