Lent Food Traditions

If you celebrate Lent, it is important to know the food traditions. Lent is a season celebrated in the Catholic church. It is the 40 days before Easter. Sundays are not included in the count. During Lent, there are certain things you cannot eat. There are certain times where you are not supposed to eat anything. It can be a little confusing to some. Don't worry, we will clear it all up for you!

In order to follow Lent food tradition, you will need:

  • Meatless meals
  • Regular meals
  • Meatless soup
  • Chewy pretzels
  • Hot Cross Buns
  1. Knowing when to fast. A few years ago, fasting meant consuming no food whatsoever. Today, it is a little different. During Lent, you must avoid meat on all Fridays, Saturdays, and on Ash Wednesday. You may eat three meals, but they must not contain meat. Your mail meal should be larger than the other two meals combined. No snacks are allowed. Meatless soup is a popular meal option. Types of meatless soup include fish stew, onion soup, lentil soup, potato soup, and cabbage soup.
  2. Knowing when meat consumption is allowed. On Mondays, Tuesdays, and Wednesdays (except Ash Wednesday) it is tradition to partially abstain from meat. You are allowed three meals. Follow the same concept, one large meal and two smaller meals. On these days, meat is allowed to be eaten as the main meal. No snacking.
  3. Sundays. Sunday is the day of the Resurrection. You are free to eat whatever you want on Sundays. Snacks during Lent are often soft, chewy pretzels. These can be handmade or bought. They are actually considered one of the official Lenten foods.
  4. Good Friday. On Good Friday, no meat or food made from meat can be eaten. Hot Cross Buns are typically eaten in the morning. These are sweet buns made with currants or raisins, cinnamon and nutmeg. The icing adorns the bun in the shape of a cross.
show comments

What Others Are Reading Right Now.