Quick Intro: Oswego State Hockey

Perhaps the most notable bit of information in a quick intro to Oswego State hockey is that the team brought the State University of New York at Oswego it's first national championship of any sport, with the Lakers winning the NCAA Division III Ice Hockey Championship in 2007.   After winning the regular season title in the State University of New York Athletic Conference with a 23-3-3 record, the Lakers carried their momentum all the way through to the championship finals, defeating the Middlebury College Panthers in overtime for the title.

While it was their first championship, the Oswego State hockey team also participated in the NCAA Division III Hockey Tournament a total of 11 times, most recently in 2010.  Four times they've reached the Frozen Four, placing second in 1987 and 2003, and third in 2010.  On a conference level, Oswego State has nine SUNYAC Championships for the regular season, plus four postseason conference tournament wins.

Additionally, the Lakers have produced a number of exceptional players, although none have reached the National Hockey League.  Goaltender Pete Sears, defenseman Joe Carrabs and forwards Greg Preston, Rick Pratt, Dave Lair, Sean Fitzgerald and Eric Selleck have all been named All-Americans from Oswego State hockey throughout the years.

The lakers play home games at the Campus Center Hockey Arena on the campus of State University of New York at Oswego, which opened in 2006.  Oswego alum Ed Gosek serves as the head coach of the team, signing on in 2003.  He is assisted behind the bench by Dan Ford and Pete Sears.  Prior to Gosek, the Lakers were coached by George Roll, Don Unger, Herb Hammond and George Crowe.

hockey/highlights.html">Oswego State Men's Ice Hockey



What Others Are Reading Right Now.